APC Candidates Win Imo North Senatorial Re-Run, 2 Others

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Mr Ben Uwajumogu of the All Progressives Congress, APC, winner of Imo North senatorial district rerun election held on July 28.

Mr. Uwajumogu scored 56,076 votes to defeat Athan Achonu of the PDP who scored 43, 815 votes.

Prof. Arinze Agbogu, the INEC Returning Officer for Imo North Senatorial District, who announced the result on Friday, said the outcome was a summation of scores of July 23 and July 28 exercise. 

Uwajumogu, had scored 48,921 on July 23, while Achonu, of the PDP, scored 40,142 votes which made INEC to declare the rerun inconclusive.

NAN reports that Prof. Agbogu said available data before him showed that Uwajumogu had majority of lawful votes cast, and therefore returned elected for the Imo North Senatorial District. 

Similarly, INEC declared Nkenna Nzeruo of the APC winner of Oru East State Constituency, while Collins Chiji also of APC was declared winner for Isiala Mbano State Constituency. The two state constituencies’ elections were equally declared inconclusive due to reported cases of violence that marred the exercise in some communities in the two areas on July 23. 

APC-senator elect Uwajumogu told journalists in Owerri that he was highly elated over the victory, adding “my gratitude goes more to Governor Rochas Okorocha whose structure helped me to win this senatorial election’’.


  1. Good for them. I hope they are sincerely ready to serve the people and not just themselves.

  2. Complete fraud. APC shame on u for rigging the election. Rochas is the biggest fraudster in the history of Imo State. Evil man

  3. Rochas of the people, Rochas for all .. The South Eastern saviour.

  4. Congrats to him, Rochas has deliver waiting for Rivers lol

  5. congrats to dem...

    #Olu, can you see?

  6. Congratulations to Rochas and Imo state.


Please keep your comments clean always. Thank you!