FG Approves 8 New Universities Across Nigeria (See Names)

The Federal Government has approved eight new universities across the country. The approval was granted on Wednesday during a meeting of the Federal Executive Council, FEC, which held at the council chamber of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The Minister of State for Education, Anthony Onwuka, who briefed State House correspondents, said the ministry “submitted a memo seeking approval for eight private universities after recommendation by the NUC”.

The names of the eight approved universities are:
Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos; 
Arthur Jarvis Akpabuyo University, Calabar, Cross River; 
Clifford University, Owerinta, Abia; 
Coal City University, Enugu; 
Crown Hill University, Kwara; 
Dominican University, Ibadan, Oyo; 
Kola Daisy University, Ibadan; 
Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State.

The minister said the new universities were given three years provisional license. He also said all the new universities are to be mentored by older ones.

He said Anchor University will be mentored by the University of Lagos, Jarvis University by the University of Calabar and Clifford University by the University of Agriculture, Umudike.

Coal city University will be mentored by the University of Nigeria Nsukka; Crown Hill University by the University of Ilorin; while the two new universities in Oyo State, Kola Daisy and Dominican universities, will be mentored by the University of Ibadan.

Legacy University, Okija, will be mentored by the Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka.


  1. So what is government doing to ensure that those who will attend these universities will hav jobs after graduation or be able to start business?


  2. Our concern should be how to create more companies for adequate job creation.Graduates from existing and just created will definitely need employments.Industrialization should be enhanced at the moment.

  3. Issorite. Education and employment/empowerment should be at par.


Please keep your comments clean always. Thank you!