7 Senators That Constitute 'Cabal' In The Senate

The 8th Nigerian Senate has been replete with political game-plays orchestrated by major actors popularly called 'cabal'. According to Nigerian Bulletin, below are 7 senators who constitute the ‘cabal’ in Nigerian Senate:

1. Senate President, Bukola Saraki – Bukola Saraki needs no introduction. He is the President of Nigeria's 8th Assembly. The Kwara-born lawmaker is a strong man in both in home politics, and on the national level. Saraki is believed to be the Most powerful senate president that Nigeria has till date – he wields so much influence that any opposition attempt against him will fail.

2. Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu – Ike Ekweremadu is the Deputy Senate President. Though a PDP lawmaker, he pitches tent with the strong-men in the house – pushing various agenda. Anytime Ekweremadu assumes position as the Senate president in Saraki's absence, the house always boils, with so many news items for journalists. He presided over the house that sent Customs Boss, Hameed Ali out of Red Chambers for non-appearance in uniform. He also presided over the sitting that failed to confirm Ibrahim Magu as substantive EFCC Chairman.

3. Dino Melaye – Coupled with the earlier mentioned duo, Dino Melaye constitute one of the cabal in the Red Chmabers. The Kogi-West lawmaker is controversial for many reasons. He's recently involved in a messy certificate scandal as alleged by Sahara Reporters that he didn't graduate from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. Melaye is Senate President's, Saraki's godson. Melaye in 2016 declared that Saraki, despite the allegations of corruption hanging on him, must remain in office for four years. He had also drummed support for his becoming the Senate President, and faulted the APC leaders for attacking Saraki. This 'godson' truism also played out in his recent scandal, and how he was cleared alongside Saraki by the Senate Probe committee.

4. Ahmed Lawan: Ahmed Lawan is the new Majority Leader in Nigerian Senate. He replaced Ali Ndume with 39 of the party’s 63 senators approval. Ndume's removal from the Senate was believed to have been facilitated by some 'forces' in the parliament 'APC Caucus' Ndume was removed for insisting that the Senate did not follow the proper procedure before declaring that it had rejected the nomination of Ibrahim Magu as head of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

5. Godswill Akpabio – Akpabio is the Minority Leader of Nigeria's Senate. In November 2016, he led a staged-walk out of PDP Senators from the chamber, following uproar that trailed the defection of Yele Omogunwa to the ruling All Progressives Congress. He raised a point of order saying there was no division in the PDP, leading to a shouting match between the opposition senators and their APC colleagues who stood to welcome Mr. Omogunwa to their fold.

6. Olusola Adeyeye: Adeyeye is an APC Senator from Osun state. Adeyeye is one of Nigeria's hilarious senators. In 2016, during the debate on the 2016 Budget, Adeyeye made the call for government to tax 'sin behaviors' if the the country must make progress. Also on March 15, 2017, Senator Adeyeye, caused drama in the house when he withdrew his support for motion mandating the Customs boss Hammed Ali to appear before the Senate in his uniform.

7. Senator Olujimi: A female lawmaker, Senator Olujimi was among the Senators that stood grounds on Customs CG, Hammed Alis refusal to wear uniform to the chamber. She also lashed out at the President Muhammadu Buhari for keeping mum on the face-off between the Senate and the legislative arm.


  1. Orísírísí! Absolute misplaced priority..

  2. nothing short of the shot callers in the house truely..they are indeed the cabal and more about to join them soonest

  3. Mr Olu Debunk This News Jare, First and foremost Ahmed Lawan holds no water to control majority of the Senators despite being the longest serving Lawmaker in the Upper Chamber, He's just the Senate Majority Leader Today As A Way Of Saraki Appeasing The Party and Finally Accepting To Do Their Bidding, Majority of APC that support Lawan are those Loyal to the Party And Same Applies To Sen Olusola Adeyeye A Loyal Party Man and Would Never Conspire Against Buhari except when the likes of Tinubu no longer support the President so this Two names should Be replaced With Sen Danjuma Godje (Chairman Appropriation Committee, the must juicy committee & Senate Spokes person Sen Aliyu Abdulahi Sabi, those are the real Saraki Men other Senators are neither here nor there and also Saraki himself presided over Magu's rejection by the Senate it was on National TV don't allow all this propaganda website bring down our famous blog Oooo

  4. Another Blunder "She also lashed out at the President Muhammadu Buhari for keeping mum on the face-off between the Senate and the legislative arm" another Blunder Mr Olu stay away from this mischievous rumor mongers

  5. Cabal my foot, what joined them together will still scatter them when the time comes

  6. The are key principal officer so they are only protecting their territory.

  7. Hassan Aderemi04 April, 2017 20:55

    Electorates are watching, they cannot remain in the upper chamber, they will come back to join society at the expiration of their tenure , then history & prosperity will judge them.

  8. Powerful force, good for democracy


Please keep your comments clean always. Thank you!