Aregbesola’s Chief Of Staff Emerges Osun APC Governorship Candidate

Adegboyega Oyetola has emerged as the gubernatorial candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in the forthcoming Osun State governorship election.

Announcing the results at about 10:45 pm on Friday at the party’s secretariat in Osogbo Sen. Ovie Omo-Agege said Oyetola, who is Gov. Aregbesola Chief of Staff since 2010, scored 127,017 votes.

Omo-Agege, who represented Gov. Abdulaziz Yari of Zamfara, the Chairman of the Election committee, said that Mr Lasun Yussuff, Deputy Speaker of House of Representatives came second with 21,975 votes.

"Having won the majority votes, I declared Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola as the official flag bearer for the Sept. 22 governorship election”, Omo-Agege said.

However, he commended all other aspirants for displaying maturity during the exercise.

Omo-Agege who described the election as a family contest, said there was no victor and no vanquished.

The direct primary was conducted in 332 wards across the state.