Deputy Speaker, Eight Others In Oyo Assembly Defect To ADC

Nine members of the Oyo State House of Assembly on Tuesday announced their defection from the party on whose ticket they won their seat to a new party.

The defection saw five members of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) dumping the party for the African Democratic Congress (ADC), three members of the Accord party and one member of the Labour Party also joined the ADC.

The defectors were led by the Deputy Speaker, Mr. Abdulwasi Musah with their letters of defection read on the floor of the assembly by the Clerk of the house, Mr Paul Bankole during plenary.

Other members who defected include Mr Lukman Balogun (Labour Party to ADC), Mr Bolaji Badmus (APC to ADC), Mr Azeez Billiaminu (Accord to ADC) and Mr Ganiyu Oseni (APC to ADC).

Others are Mr. Olusegun Olaleye (APC to ADC), Mr Samson Oguntade (Accord to ADC) and Mr. Muideen Olagunju (Accord to ADC).

With the defection of the nine members the ADC now have 12 members against the ruling APC whose membership strength stands at 18 members and the PDP left with 2 members in the house.