Goodluck Jonathan's Senatorial District Won By APC

The All Progressives Congress has so far won 65 seats in the ninth Senate with its latest victory in the Bayelsa East Senatorial District. Otuoke, the hometown of former President Goodluck Jonathan, who is a Peoples Democratic Party chieftain, is in the Bayelsa East Senatorial District.

INEC has so far declared results of 101 senatorial elections that were conducted across the country on Saturday. The Senate has 109 members and for a party to have the two-thirds majority in the upper chamber of the National Assembly, it must produce 73 senators.

The opposition Peoples Democratic Party has won 35 seats in the Senate, while the Young Progressive Party clinched a seat in Anambra State.

PDP produces three Reps, APC, two in Bayelsa 
In Bayelsa State, besides winning a senatorial seat, the APC, in the results announced by INEC, clinched two House of Representatives seats in the Southern Ijaw and Nembe/Brass.

Nembe and Brass constituencies are also part of Goodluck Jonathan’s senatorial district.

This is the first time the APC is winning the National Assembly elections in the state since 1999.

A breakdown of the results shows that the PDP won three of the House of Representatives seat while the APC clinched two.

The senatorial seat for the Bayelsa East Senatorial District was won by the Degi Wagara, of the APC with 43,303 to beat the PDP candidate, Ipiganai Izagara who pulled 32,363 votes.

The PDP won in the other two senatorial seats in Bayelsa West and the central district. A former Works Commissioner, Ewhrudjakpo Lawrence, who polled 49,912, won the seat in the west district, while Diri Douye, won in the central district with 83, 978 votes.

Invest & Get 20% In Just 90 Days
Click HERE >>

To Buy Cheap MTN & GLO Data 
Click HERE >> 

A Quick Loan Without Collateral 
Click HERE >>